BP Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Found 68 reviews matching the search See all 3,719 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basildon, EssexFebruary 3, 2017
Great experience and great pay. Management could have been better. Lovely colleagues. Work was flexible but not much security on site and the site was prone to negative behaviour
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Lazy colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, MpumalangaDecember 21, 2016
I enjoyed it but its was time for me to leave the job because I was not getting paid that much so I can start looking out my needs, and I had a lot I wanted to do
Pros
30 minutes
Cons
6-6 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open 24 Hours, Busy, local petrol station
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  LondonDecember 11, 2016
Open 24 hours a day I start between 5am - 6am preparing all the fresh savouries, cakes and breads. Once labelled and bagged the coffee rush starts at approx. 6.30 when everyone starts going to work. A small pause. Restock then its school rush. Restock and change from breakfast menu to lunch.
Whilst doing the above I assist on tills selling all M&S products,cigarettes and fuel. main queue should not exceed 1 person waiting so up to 5 tills can be opened with all coffee orders being shouted down.
There is very little time for chit chat and I am busy from the minute I clock on till I leave. The most enjoyable part is dealing with customers and there friendly smiling faces when they leave
Pros
Its local
Cons
Open 24 hours shifts can be changed short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  RedhillNovember 13, 2016
Great place to work managment very helpfull care about their staff. All staff are very friendly and welcome new comers.

Mangement help with training online training if you get stuck.
Pros
always try to accomendate your shif pattern
Cons
late night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  HuddersfieldSeptember 23, 2016
Bp is the worst place to work management is rubbish she needs sacking need new directors and area managers Huddersfield Leeds road
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Port wSeptember 15, 2016
Serving customers, handling money, making coffee, kitchen duties, filling stock, basic shop cleaning, cleaning toilets, emptying rubbish bins and keeping everything tidy.
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor job
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  KentAugust 21, 2016
a typical day at work was working behind the till the customers were brilliant but rest of the staff and managers were ridiculous i was let go from my job here for asking for a day off for a hospital appointment as i was deemed unreliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  AshfordAugust 4, 2016
Bp is a good brand
Best service in goods and fuel
Good price for all goods
Loyalty Custermar nectar point
Lotts people like it
Pros
Any
Cons
Any
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager was a jobsworth, constantly on tills
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  BasildonJuly 6, 2016
always stuck on tills dealing with RUDE "customers"
hardly ever on shop floor, tills were dull, boring & repetitive & I HATE standing around all day and I have always been better on the shop floor

my back started playing up and I couldn't move as quick/hardly at all as everyone else & my store manager KNEW this and asked me to do the crisps so i did & because I couldn't get it done within half an hour he snapped

"it should be done by now! your plodding at your speed, if your not going to go at our speed then i'm not paying you!"

I didn't fit in and it always felt like everyone had been talking about me when I appeared, they would look at me, smile and walk off

I never learnt anything as I as always on tills
There was no enjoyable part of working there
Pros
discount
Cons
jobsworth manager, constantly on tills, RUDE "customers" constantly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable life skills
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toogoolawah QLDJune 26, 2016
With many new faces being met every shift and many life orientated jobs to be done throughout the store, you can ensure that it can be an enjoyable job if you want it to be.
The hourly rate is very reasonable especially for a first job.
Management and co-workers are very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  BracknellMay 3, 2016
Typical day would be, if you were doing the morning shift, then it would be delivery and shop floor work, otherwise it would be tills.
Evening would consist of doing date-checks, reductions, stock replenishment & the rest would be all tills.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  SouthamptonFebruary 23, 2016
everyday we are getting new customers , most of people are really friendly and easy to chat, always few people on the shift and they all nice team players to work with
Pros
half price for staff at store on food
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  ENGJanuary 7, 2016
very good company to work for with some great benefits can be abit daunting a times when late at night locking up being the only person on the a15
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with lot of experience
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  leedsSeptember 23, 2015
By working at BP station, I have learned how to deal with all kind of customers and what you achieve by making the customers happy.
Management is good with flexible shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ENGAugust 13, 2015
One person would have to take a lot responsibilities during a nightshift as I did, it is a decent job to be working for nothing amazing, pretty good organisation or timetables etc. sometimes its really fast paced which is stress but its good, other days like weekends are slow.
Pros
Free hot beverages
Cons
team members at some branches are not that friendly, night shift pay is not good enough compared to other rates
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  PontefractJune 22, 2015
Overall BP petroleum was a fun and productive place to work at with everyday bringing new challlenges for me to encounter.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Too Far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and happy
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Heysham, ENGAugust 23, 2014
this was a very close group and we supported each other. We achieved a monthly improvement on sales figures and were regarded as the leading petrol station in the lancaster and wider area and regularly received visits from area manager and praise
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working alone in a large garage with lots of responsibility and able to work on inititive.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  CambuslangFebruary 7, 2014
Worked on POS, selling tobacco, food, car goods, housekeeping, stock replenishment, cashing up and working with the general public. I learned how to time manage to get my tasks done without leaving customers waiting. Worked alone so was by all intents and purpose my own boss. The hardest part was the hours from 10 pm to 8 am as its hard sleeping during the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was i was given free reign to do my tasks in my own way allowing for unexpected circumstances to have next to null affect on my work.
Pros
Living close to the premises and every night was different from before
Cons
A lot of work for one man but im good at multi-tasking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, SCTFebruary 4, 2014
A typical day at work would be stocking shelves and serving customers. I learned to become more confident with interacting with customers and how to use the system which BP use along with the lottery machine.
Pros
Enjoyable and fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good job
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, ENGFebruary 2, 2014
Working for bp was good, the experience i gained in a full time job was good and the pay was ok. I am only leaving BP as I need a change from retail and the environment I work in as I need to experience new experiences and learn new lessons to advance in a career that is more appropriate for myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,719 reviews
51.4K
41.1K
3744
2212
1234

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture