Foreign & Commonwealth Office Employee Reviews

Showing all 68 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Placement Experience
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Milton KeynesMay 5, 2018
My experience of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office was fantastic as I experienced the workings of a professional environment. I also worked on a project with the company as part of my university course which proved to be invaluable to my studies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Subbing for supervisor printer (Former Employee) –  LondonApril 26, 2018
Staff were great and lower management caring. machinery good and well cared for. staff great. lots of benefits. Salary good. good canteen etc. would recommend the job to anyone.
Pros
good reliable job
Cons
poor manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service
Expenses Team Administrator (Former Employee) –  Milton KeynesApril 24, 2018
Good job security but pay has been heaverly eroded over the last few years. There are no bonuses or perks.
Promotion is slow and very complecated.
working hours per week are 37. You can work anytime between 7:00 and 18:00.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
low pay and increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and ex
office assistant (Former Employee) –  PakistanMarch 16, 2018
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Pros
good
Cons
nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad energy and environment/ Fraud with hiring people. People not hired with qualifications
Entry clearancw assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, GautengFebruary 5, 2018
Worked as seasonal staff@UKVI & the treatment is bad, there's a lot of fraud with hiring people, its not about UR work but about which manager likes U
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Manager (Former Employee) –  SingaporeNovember 23, 2017
Salary was good after recent salary adjustments, but only applied to a group of individuals. Good work life balance and also opportunities to travel. Good culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Diplomat and Senior Operations Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonNovember 15, 2017
Fun place to work and gives you great experience. Teaches you many great skills above all building relationships and working in the dynamic arena of international affairs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Working Environment
Trade Policy Officer (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, GautengOctober 3, 2017
Staff get fired so easily they have a high staff turn over and the working environment is toxic and sick. Worked there for 6 months and nearly landed in a hospital. Its a very racist environment the company is not diverse and black people are meant to feel as though they are stupid and incapable of making decisions.
Pros
good salaries
Cons
racism, poor line management, no training provided to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 74No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General administrative support (Former Employee) –  London, UKJune 21, 2017
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting office at the forefront of diplomatic relations globally
Desk Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonJune 9, 2017
The website will tell you all you need to know.

A fast changing global environment ensures an exciting career with the FCO. Plenty of opportunities to travel and work overseas. A change in role every two or three years keeps things interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part time job i went there once a week.
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengMay 13, 2017
The management team was great and the people i worked with it was fun they made sure i was comfortable always. My payment was very little with no incentives it was tough but I pulled through and everytime i got payed went to checkers to see what i can get with that money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 21Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Personal Assistant to Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Damascus, SYApril 19, 2017
Great place. Lots of people from different nationalities, great opportunities for learning and expanding skills.
A lot of travel opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality
Hospitality (Former Employee) –  LondonFebruary 17, 2017
supporting conferences with excellent hospitality service
serving dishes to customers at the table
able to make different kinds of coffee's
ensure timely delivery of all food and beverage item to customers
understanding menu content and keeping up to date with any menu changes
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Civil Servant (Former Employee) –  Hanslope, BuckinghamshireFebruary 16, 2017
The post was held under the official secrets act. Government held post. Always room to progress. Lovely surroundings to work in. Job security. Travelling to London a slight downside,
Pros
Government
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
condition is quite poor
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonFebruary 8, 2017
Management is not organise, however, training is giving each six months. We have good teamwork. Meeting high foreign diplomas
The hardest part of the job is having people trespass a loud and angry person and avoiding complacency
Pros
no
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience
Payments Officer (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, BuckinghamshireJanuary 21, 2017
Loved working at Fco. Nice friendly colleagues and great location to get to. Learnt loads, could expand my skills set and evolve.
Pros
Flexi hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occasionally interesting work but awful pay and management, very political.
Vice Consul (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 14, 2017
A very hierarchical organization. Most colleagues are there to do the least amount of work they can. Poor work culture, highly political.

The work can be exciting and interesting. Generally, poor managers but there can be exceptions.

Pay for junior staff is poor, even in high-cost locations. Very dangerous set-up with the IRS that can severely damage U.S. individuals, the Brits won't defend your interests.

Foreign Office diplomats can be very interesting but self-serving. Not good business people or business analysts.

Fairly secure job security rating, but most don't stay very long.
Pros
International trade & relations. Ability to meet people.
Cons
Poor management, driven by volatile political demands. Low pay, tax/IRS liability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, awful pay
Legalisation Officer (Current Employee) –  Milton KeynesJanuary 9, 2017
Lovely people and the job wasn't bad either. However, the pay is terrible (being a Government post), and I found that I was struggling to pay my bills, so time to move on.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater LondonDecember 31, 2016
Excellent for young people seeking to work overseas
busy role but you will not bored
Good team working

Negative resources been cut means increasing workload
Pros
Annual Leave
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High reputation
Interpreter and Translator (Former Employee) –  Basra, IraqDecember 10, 2016
I was so proud of my work as interpreter for the 'FCO' office back in Iraq following the 2003 war.

It gave me great favour to rehabilitate my life and find my goals. It was really the one I can clearly say taught me thousands of life lessons.
Pros
Massive advantages
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foreign & Commonwealth Office. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 68 reviews
528
422
314
21
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture