University of Maryland University College

University of Maryland University College Employee Reviews

Showing all 862 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Event/Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJune 18, 2019
very demanding due to hours of work with a consistent change of scheduling and responsibilities due to my job position. The potential for promotion was no longer available however the majority of the staff were very reliable and professional.
Pros
supportive mentors, great exposure towards improving communications skills from undergrads to VIP
Cons
short breaks, low salary, poor management from departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are disposable
Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Largo, MDJune 15, 2019
UMUC will only start you at an entry-level as you have to move up takes a 1/2 2 years to at least move to another department or upper level management no room for negotiation for entry-level positions student is always right management is not willing to stand behind their associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
IT Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJune 9, 2019
Overall it was a good job and convenient too because it was right on campus. I learned a lot about IT and was fun helping students with their needs. The work place was relaxed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun work environment but poor management
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJune 3, 2019
It was fun when not under pressure an you should just go in do your work an get in and out, the pay not great for students but c1s get paid decent along with the chefs
Pros
Free food
Cons
Too much pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Trainer (Former Employee) –  College Park, MD 20742June 1, 2019
l love working with them and enjoy cooking with my co-works. the manages really love what they do when i work with them it me improve my skills.The co-works we all worked as a team and help each other.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
shots breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay place
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 30, 2019
The job itself is very easy, but the management can be a bit much and a little bit rude. Yo have to serve the students with kindness and be clean. The cleaning is not bad either.
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Supervisor Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Chestertown mdMay 27, 2019
nice place, stable employment


large number of employees, great benefits, room for advancement. and growth. this company keeps up with the latest technologies and teaches their employees the skills needed to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management not good people
Zone Supervisor (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 21, 2019
Management doesn't stand behind there management staff when mistakes are made. My driver's license was expired in Virginia so I needed to take a two week Maryland driver's class to receive a Maryland's license so they refuse and terminated me. I had just received my evaluation which was outstanding. You would have thought that upper management would have stood behind me but they didn't.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Upper management need to retire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job!
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 20, 2019
I worked as a TA for a professor. The work is to grade students' assignments and hold a one-hour office hour per week to answer questions from students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a lot of opportunity at UMUC!
Director of Contracting (Former Employee) –  Adelphi, MDMay 15, 2019
UMUC offers a very dynamic work place. Although it is higher education, it operates a lot like private industry. There is a lot of opportunity at UMUC.
Pros
Tuition assistance benefits.
Cons
Did not offer telework at the time I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Librarian III (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MD 21076May 11, 2019
Working at the University of Maryland University College (UMUC) was very professionally satisfying. The personnel that I worked with were all professional and well-trained.
Pros
excellent conditions
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Emergency Services Instructor (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 10, 2019
good work environment. management helps with the students. The students have many resources to choose. I got my BS degree in Fire Science from the University of Maryland University College.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive place to work in
GRA, EDX agile development course assistant (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 10, 2019
I really enjoyed working there. Professors are so expert and very friendly to work with.
There are a lot of state-of-the-art projects in this university.
Pros
opportunity to learn
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open mind and support new technology
IT System Administrator (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDApril 24, 2019
Always encourage and support employee to learn and adopt new things to better service academic and research needs.

Job training and Conference are the best chance for us to catch the ever-changing technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ineffective management
Military Education Coordinator (Former Employee) –  MDApril 24, 2019
There is no consideration of how tasks are to be completed by front line staff. Turned into a call center atmosphere with poor management. Front line employees are considered replaceable and paid poorly.
Pros
health benefits
Cons
Worked through lunch daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great job
Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Largo, MDApril 24, 2019
Not a bad entry level position if your looking for call center atmosphere position. Helping students achieves their academic goals is the most rewarding part of this position.
Pros
benefits, tuition remission
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay
Animal Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 22, 2019
This job is very unique. The managers make up their own rules they’ll tell you to do something then change it. You supposed to get raises after a year. (Which you most likely wont get) . They try to overwork you make you do alot of overtime but wont increase your pay. You have to really fight to get a raise. They’re always introducing something new which only lasts for a couple months which is exhausting
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Cant move up/ unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The projects and the teams were wonderful to work with
Language Consultant (Former Employee) –  RemoteApril 20, 2019
My experience in working with the team members on various projects here was positive. The team members work well together and the team managers were all on point and effective. That effectiveness helped moving the projects forward in an enjoyable manner as deadlines and expectations were clear, thus they were met by all the team members wihout a hitch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits with room for improvement
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDApril 19, 2019
UMUC is a great place to work for someone trying to advance their career via higher education opportunities. Tuition remission is a huge benefit and they offer excellent dental and healthcare plans. The retirement plan is generous compared to many local employers as well. Great colleagues and friendly atmosphere overall.

Management can be viewed in as two-fold. Upper management is very business and mission driven, and relatively transparent. Front-line managers are okay. Could use more leadership training but compared to other organizations, they are par for course.

One drawback is not as much upward mobility as there could be and what is available depends a lot of who you know, not what you know. Again, par for course with most organizations.

While telework is an option, it is not instituted as well as it could be.
Pros
Great colleagues, tuition remission, excellent benefits
Cons
Lack of advancement opportunities, mediocre frontline (middle) management, need more telework opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Customer Relations Associate (Current Employee) –  Largo, MDApril 17, 2019
The benefits are amazing, the life balance is great. Management needs some work, as well as advancement. There is nowhere to move in the company. The job culture is good some days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Maryland University College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 862 reviews
5403
4257
3146
229
127

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture